The Church Council authorized the formation of a strategic planning team at its July 14, 2013 meeting. The Committee on Nominations and Leadership Development assembled the team which consisted of ten members: Phil Bailey, Ken Green, Linda Kidd, Bruce Motsinger, Rosemary Pettus, Bob Rennie, Bill Skelton, Jean Thompson, Don Tummons, and Beverly Western. The team began its work in October 2013. The Rev. Jim Arant, Congregational Specialist for the Greenwood District, guided the strategic planning process.
A congregational gathering was held on Sunday, January 5, 2014. At this gathering church members were given an update on the progress of the planning team and was invited to submit suggestions and ideas regarding the future of the church.
A second congregational gathering was held on Sunday, April 27, 2014. At this second gathering the Strategic Planning Team announced a new mission statement, a new vision statement, and twelve congregational goals. The goals were developed from the input received during the first congregational gathering in January.
In May 2014 the Church Council adopted the twelve goals and ministry teams formed to support them. The Ministry Teams and their conveners are:

Reaching Up

Membership Increase (Bill Skelton and Bruce Motsinger)
Education (Don Tummons and John Wright)
Prayer and Spiritual Disciplines (Arvid Perez and Sundee Luedecke)
Gifts Discernment (Mary Wright)

Reaching Out

Communications (Barb Shelley)
Congregational Care Ministry (Carol Struck)
Sharing the Good News (Lindy Stahlman)